HAPPY 30TH ANNIVERSARY TO THE AMIGA COMPUTER! – PART 1   Leave a comment

HAPPY 30TH ANNIVERSARY TO THE AMIGA COMPUTER! – PART 1

AmigaA1000The original Amiga computer model (A1000) from 1985

I’ve now decided to make shorter posts and do them more frequently, like I used to do when I started this blog, so here goes!

In 1985, following a few years of secret development, the Amiga computer was revealed to the World! This computer introduced the concepts of multitasking to the general public. It also had higher quality graphics than any other system generally available. It could even lay screens on top of one another, then scroll the screens up and down in front of other screens, a feature never adopted by PC hardware companies or Apple.

When I first heard about the Amiga, I thought to myself that there was no way I would buy another computer made by the Commodore con artists. Once bitten, twice shy! However, I eventually heard enough about the Amiga to realise that it wasn’t anything like any previous Commodore computer, because it wasn’t developed by Commodore, so then I eventually decided to buy one.

The Amiga was supplied with a BASIC programming language which supported a lot of its hardware.

Here’s how the legendary Fred Harris, who was already the hero who presented the earlier computer programming series “Me and My Micro” introduced the Amiga on the BBC TV series “Micro Live”.

That’s all I want to say about the Amiga at the moment! Look forward to a continuation of this very soon!

Posted February 11, 2015 by C64hater in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

