WHAT NEXT?   Leave a comment

WHAT NEXT?

C128line2
How can you do this on the Commodore 64?

I had to make this post to tell everyone why I haven’t yet continued with Part 3 of my series “Drawing The Line”, otherwise people may lose interest in my blog.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been hard at work on two different themes. These are completing and shortening the quite messy program I wrote to draw a line part of the way across the Commodore 64 graphics screen, as well as exploring my new/old Commodore 128 computer and finding out the differences and similarities between it and the Commodore 64. I’ve found out a lot about both these subjects, which has really amazed me! I’ve also managed to debug a program listing from 1984 to PLOT a point on the screen, turn it off when the user presses a key, then turn it back on when a key is pressed again, etc! I’ve even succeeded in taking the program further. I never thought I’d be able to do anything like this. Of course, most Commodore 64 owners never managed to.

At the computer club I mentioned in an earlier post, games were discouraged, although even the organisers sometimes played games. There were usually just a handful of Commodore 64 owners there, totally outnumbered by Spectrum owners, as well as BBC owners and almost outnumbered by Apple II owners as well. This was in spite of the fact that the Commodore 64 was the second most popular computer in Britain at that time. I think this was probably because the Commodore 64 owners had realised that they couldn’t program it.

I’ve recently written a total of about 7,000 words on the subjects of “Drawing The Line” on the Commodore 64, as well as about the Commodore 128. These could be split into 4 separate posts, so look forward to reading them in the very near future! I’ve made some fantastic discoveries about programming the Commodore 64 and the Commodore 128, so prepare to be amazed!

Posted October 9, 2013 by C64hater in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

