DEBUNKING THE DEBUNK OF “SCHOOLBOY IN FOUR HOUR DETENTION SHOCK!”   Leave a comment

DEBUNKING THE DEBUNK OF “SCHOOLBOY IN FOUR HOUR DETENTION SHOCK!”

main_school_building_comp

A school building, but not a school I’ve ever been to


I should point out a few things here.


1. My article makes a point about news censorship. Newspapers and magazines often fail to cover relevant down to earth stories like this when they happen. I have read and seen stories about schools in print, as well as on TV, though.


2. The teacher who kept the three pupils behind, in my story, as well as the teacher who kept me behind in real life wasn’t actually in the classroom at the time.  He just went off and left them and me in the classroom to get on with it. His instructions were not to go home until completing the problems set. As I knew I couldn’t do the maths problems, I had to get his agreement that I could leave by a certain time. In my story, schoolboy Steve Green didn’t know what he was letting himself in for with the Commodore 64. Therefore, he was stuck there indefinitely, because he hadn’t obtained permission from the teacher to leave. In my case, as well as in the story, the teacher left and went to a staff meeting, or just went home, so he wasn’t wasting his time as well at all. He was well out of it!

3. Of course, back in 1984 the Commodore 1541 cost more than the actual Commodore 64 computer itself, so whatever software was available on disk was irrelevant to most Commodore 64 owners, because they couldn’t use it. Apart from this it seems that TMR agrees with my statements that it’s impossible to compile programs into Machine Code from a cassette based data recorder.

4. In my story, I said that the pupils had to DRAW a geometric shape on the screen. I didn’t say anything about pathetic simulations of drawing by using Commodore 64 graphics characters, as used in a famous contest in Italy between the Commodore 64 and the mighty Sinclair Spectrum, with its easily accessible hires graphics as described on   http://www.alfonsomartone.itb.it/fztsmo.html

5.There was no point me studying 6502 Machine Code/Assembly Language programming to use on the Commodore 64, because I couldn’t even get the hang of BASIC on that so called computer. Later on, I studied Z80 Assembly Language/Machine Code after I decided to buy an Amstrad CPC computer, which was Z80 based. I inputted various short programs, which were listed in an Amstrad CPC magazine, but they only taught the fundamentals and didn’t do anything interesting. Later on, I got a book called “The Ins and Outs of the Amstrad”, which listed all the ROM function calls, but was a cheaper alternative to the Concise Firmware Manual. Using this, I was even able to draw lines on the screen! Unfortunately, I got very upset and depressed when my Amstrad CPC664 not only became last year’s model after just 4 months, but was even discontinued, although the CPC464 was still sold. I did a lot more on the Amstrad CPC664 than I could ever have done on the Commodore 64, though.

6. When I wrote “computer literacy”, I meant this to include computer programming.

I hope that clears up all these points.

Posted August 1, 2013 by C64hater in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

